About Fujian(Archived)

Home >> About Fujian(Archived)

General Information

Source: wb.fj.gov.cn | 2024-05-14 15:56   Click:

Fujian Province is called Min for short. In the Qin Dynasty (221-207 B.C.), Minzhong Prefecture was set up in this area. In the early Han Dynasty (202 B.C.), it was established as the Minyue State. An official post of Fujian military commissioner was set up in 733 during the Kaiyuan Reign of the Tang Dynasty (618-907). From then on, the area has been known as Fujian. During the Southern Song Dynasty (1127-1279), Fujian was composed of eight prefectures, hence also known as Eight Min (eight administrative divisions).


Situated on China’s southeast coast, Fujian is bordered by Zhejiang Province to the northeast, Jiangxi Province to the west and northwest, and Guangdong Province to the southwest. It covers a land area of 124,000 square kilometers, and a sea area of 136,000 square kilometers. Home to 41.83 million people, Fujian exercises jurisdiction over nine prefectural cities (Fuzhou, Xiamen, Zhangzhou, Quanzhou, Sanming, Putian, Nanping, Longyan, Ningde), Pingtan Comprehensive Pilot Zone, and 84 counties (or cities at county level) and districts. Its capital city is Fuzhou.


Facing Taiwan across the Strait, Fujian was the starting point of the ancient Maritime Silk Road, and today figures prominently in China’s opening to the outside world. Fujian has some 120 harbours along the 3,752 kilometers of its coastline.


Located in the subtropical zone, Fujian is influenced by the subtropical oceanic monsoon climate, enjoying warm weather and plenty of rainfall. The annual mean temperature ranges between 15°C and 22°C, and the average rainfall between 1,400 mm and 2,000 mm. The province is richly endowed with natural resources, including dozens of mineral deposits. Moreover, Fujian is China’s most forested province.


The majority of Fujian people are ethnic Han. Major ethnic minorities include She, Hui, Manchu, Miao, and Gaoshan. More than 15.8 million Fujianese live across the world. Over 1.2 million people in Hong Kong and Macao, as well as about 80 percent of the people in Taiwan, trace their roots to Fujian.