Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Province of Liège, Belgium

2017-02-08 10:10   Click:


Area: 3,844 km

Population: 1 083 400  

Capital: Liège 


Liège is the easternmost province of Wallonia and Belgium. It borders (clockwise from the north) Limburg in the Netherlands, North Rhine-Westphalia and Rhineland-Palatinate in Germany, Diekirch in Luxembourg, and in Belgium the provinces of Luxembourg, Namur, Walloon Brabant (Wallonia), as well as those of Flemish Brabant and Limburg (Flanders).It is an area of French and German ethnicity. The capital of the province is the city of the same name Liège. The province has an area of 3,844 square kilometres (1,484 sq mi), which is divided into four administrative districts (arrondissements in French) containing a total of 84 municipalities. 

Sister Relationship 

On 27 February 1986, Mr. Hu Ping, Governor of Fujian province and Mr. Henri Fléron, Président of Conseil provincial of Liège, signed the Agreement to establish the Sister Province Relationship.