Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Region of Lower Normandy, France

2017-02-09 15:05   Click:

  Area: 17,589 km2 

  Population: 1 482 000  

  Capital: Caen 


  Lower Normandy was created in 1956, when the Normandy region was divided into Lower Normandy and Upper Normandy. The region includes three departments, Calvados, Manche and Orne, that cover the part of Normandy traditionally termed "Lower Normandy" lying west of the Dives River, the Pays d'Auge (except a small part remaining in Upper Normandy), a small part of the Pays d'Ouche (the main part remaining in Upper Normandy), the Norman Perche, and part of the "French" Perche.  


  The region's economy is heavily agricultural, with livestock and dairy farming, textiles and fruit production among its major industries. The region is the leader in France in the sectors of butter, fromage frais, soft cheeses, cider apples, cider, leeks, turnips, and flax. The region also breeds more horses than any other in France. The western part of the region is used mainly for farming, because of the prairies. Iron ore is mined near Caen. Tourism is also a major industry. 

  Sister Relationship 

  On 6 December 1990, Mr. CHEN Guangyi, Secretary of Fujian Provincial Party Committee and Mr. René Garrec, Président of Conseil regional of Lower Normandy, signed the Agreement to establish the Sister Province-Region Relationship.