Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Metropolitan City of Naples, Italy

2017-07-17 11:12   Click:

Area: 1,171

Population: 3,128,700

Capital: Naples


The Metropolitan City of Naples is an Italian Metropolitan City in Campania region, established on January 1, 2015. Its capital city is Naples; within the city there are 92 comune (municipalities). It was first created by the reform of local authorities (Law 142/1990) and established by the Law 56/2014, thus replacing the Province of Naples in 2015.


Naples is Italy's fourth-largest economy after Milan, Rome and Turin, with an estimated 2011 GDP of US$83.6 billion, equivalent to $28,749 per capita. Naples is a major cargo terminal, and the port of Naples is one of the Mediterranean's largest and busiest.

Naples is a major national and international tourist destination, being one of Italy and Europe's top tourist cities.

In recent times, there has been a move away from a traditional agriculture-based economy in the province of Naples to one based on service industries. In early 2002, there were over 249,590 enterprises operating in the province registered in the Chamber of Commerce Public Register. The service sector employs the majority of Neapolitans, although more than half of these are small enterprises with fewer than 20 workers.