Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Greater Accra Region, Ghana

2017-08-01 15:43   Click:


Area: 3,245 sq. km

Population: 2,905,726

Capital: Accra


The Greater Accra Region has the smallest area of Ghana's 10 administrative regions. It is the second most populated region, after the Ashanti Region. The Greater Accra Region was part of the Eastern Region prior to 1982 and Greater Accra region was created from the Eastern Region in 1982 and currently harbors the seat of government in Accra.


Accra is a centre for manufacturing, marketing, finance, insurance, and transportation. Its financial sector incorporates a central bank, nine commercial banks (with 81 branches), four development banks (with 19 branches), four merchant banks (with seven branches), three discount houses, one home finance mortgage bank, multiple building societies, Ghana Stock Exchange (GSE), foreign exchange bureauxs, finance houses, insurance companies, insurance brokerage firms, two savings and loans companies, and numerous real estate developers, with industrial sites and residential developments.

Sister Relationship

On September 7, 2015, Vice Governor Zheng Xiaosong signed with Dr.Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, the Ghanaian Minister for Trade and Industry, the agreetment for establishing Fujian-Greater Accra sister relationship, marking the two sides officially established sister relationship.