Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Misiones Province, Argentina

2017-08-31 08:28   Click:

Area: 29,801 sq. km 

Population: 1,101,593 

Capital: Posadas 


Misiones is one of the 23 provinces of Argentina, located in the northeastern corner of the country in the Mesopotamia region. It is surrounded by Paraguay to the northwest, Brazil to the north, east and south, and Corrientes Province of Argentina to the southwest. 

This was an early area of Roman Catholic missionary activity by the Society of Jesus in what was then called the Province of Paraguay, beginning in the early 17th century. In 1984 the ruins of four mission sites in Argentina were designated World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. 


Misiones' economy, like most in northern Argentina, is relatively underdeveloped yet fairly well-diversified. 

Though its rainy, erosion-prone geography discourages intensive crop farming, agriculture makes an important contribution to the province's economy, adding about 10% to the total. Misiones' thick forests have long provided for the ample production of roundwood without excessive impact on its ecosystem. 

Sister Relationship 

On 19 June 2006, Fujian Governor Huang Xiaojing and Misiones Governor Carlos Rovira signed the agreement of establishing sister-province relationship between the two provinces.