Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

Quang Ninh Province, Vietnam

2018-01-25 17:24   Click:


Area: 6,102 sq. km 

Population: 1,199,400 

Capital: Ha Long 


Quang Ninh is a province along the northeastern coast of Vietnam. The province is home to Ha Long Bay, a World Heritage Site. The provincial capital is Ha Long. Nearly 80% of the province is mountainous with abundant land, forest water and mineral resources. Nearly 90% of coal output in the country is extracted in this province. Ha Long Bay has 1,969 islands, out of which 989 have been given names 


Although economy of the region is agriculture based, other sectors of industries and tourism are also getting priority attention. 

Being in the northern economic triangle (Hanoi-Haiphong-Quangninh), the province has abundant resources and has immense potential to develop the economy in every sector. Industrial development is taking place at a rapid pace. Mineral extraction industries are being developed. Special economic zones are being created. The two economic development zones under development are the Mong Cai Border Gate Economic Zone and the Van Don Economic Zone. Tourism is also a sector of economic development, which has been given priority. 

Sister Relationship 

On 13 May 2017, during Vietnamese President Tran Dai Quangs visit to Fuzhou, Fujian Governor Yu Weiguo and Chairman Nguyen Duc Long of Quang Ninh Provincial Peoples Committee signed the agreement of establishing sister-province relationship.