Sister Provinces(Archived)

Home >> Sister Provinces(Archived)

The Olomouc Region, Czech Republic

2018-02-01 09:03   Click:

Area: 5,266.57 sq. km  

Population: 647,770 

Capital:  Olomouc 


The Olomouc Region is located in the north-east of the Czech Republic, bordering with the Moravian-Silesian Region in the east, Zlín Region in the south-east, South Moravian Region in the south-west and Pardubice Region in the west. It is divided into the following districts: Olomouc, Prerov, Prostějov, Sumperk, Jeseník. Rich traditions, history and picturesque natural scenery make the Olomouc region a popular tourist destination. Its capital, the beautiful city of Olomouc, is the sixth largest city in the Czech Republic and it boasts a UNESCO World Heritage Site: the Holy Trinity Column. 


Due to fertile land for growing intensive plants, the main industry of the area is traditional agriculture. The secondary sector is oriented toward the engineering, food, textile, wood and chemical industries. High-quality university education and spa services are also playing an important part in the region’s economy. Conditions for further development of the Region are its suitable position, transport accessibility, developed infrastructure, enough qualified labor force and entry of foreign investors. 

In 2016, the GDP of the Olomouc Region amounted to 4.6% of the nation's total. The GDP per capita of the region reached 76.8% of the national average.  

Sister Relationship 

On 14 December 2017, Mr. Li Dejin, Vice Governor of Fujian and Mr. Pavel Soltys, Vice Governor of the Olomouc Region, signed the Agreement to establish the Sister Province Relationship. The two sides also signed the MOU on cooperation under the Belt and Road Initiative.